3 Frontier Torts Award

Frontier Torts Award

Each year, Harvard Law School’s Section Six recognizes a lawyer or team of lawyers who used tort law (or a related form of civil liability) in a particularly path-breaking way to pursue and promote justice.


 Delivers Frontier Torts Lecture

James Dennis Delivers Inaugural Frontier Torts Lecture


2014 Recipient – Margaret Winter

We are pleased to announce the 2014 recipient of the Frontier Torts Award is Margaret Winter, Associate Director of the ACLU’s National Prison Project, for her unparalleled, sustained, and inspiring efforts and success litigating prison and jail reform cases in federal trial and appellate courts around the nation.

Margaret Winter - Winner of 2014 Frontier Torts Award

Margaret Winter – Winner of 2014 Frontier Torts Award


Previous Recipients

Terry Noffsinger (2013) for his courage, creativity, and commitment bringing lawsuits against casinos on behalf of compulsory gamblers targeted by those casinos.


Terry Noffsinger Receives FT Award

Terry Noffsinger Receives 2013 Frontier Tort Award (in 2014)


James D. Dennis (2012) for his extraordinary lawyering in Kerans v. Porter Paint, which culminated in a 1991 decision by the Ohio Supreme Court creating a new tort of sexual harassment in the workplace.


James Dennis 4 FT 2013 WEB

James Dennis Receives 2012 Frontier Torts Award (in 2013)